Yu-gi-oh! Duel Academy

Welcome to YGODA! If you are a guest please register. If you are an existing member or a new member, please log in into the Chatbox. Thank you.
DMCA
YGODA Menu
Forum Width Adjuster

You are not connected. Please login or register

[Timing] Fire Hand and Ice Hand

View previous topic View next topic Go down Message [Page 1 of 1]

#1
s{EXED} Token Gay

avatar
Administrator

[Timing] Fire Hand and Ice Hand


Please take note of the following lesson and understand it before reading this one: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Introduction


"Hand" (ハンド Hando) is an archetype used by Girag in the Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL anime. Visually, they appear as large mechanical human hands, often constructed primarily of a unique natural element. In the anime, some "Hand" monsters like "Fire Hand" and "Ice Hand" attach themselves to their controller's shoulder, like a prosthetic limb, while also causing the controller extreme pain.

The cards of the archetype do not seem to have a single strong effect focus, though they generally focus on a defensive Control Strategy. Several of the the later cards feature effects that activate when destroyed by battle. The Xyz Monsters of the archetype have effects that respond to and negate other monsters' effects when it is activated.

Quoted from: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Effects


Fire Hand

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

When this card in your possession is destroyed by your opponent's card (either by battle, or by card effect) and sent to your Graveyard: You can target 1 monster they control; destroy that target, then you can Special Summon 1 "Ice Hand" from your Deck.

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Ice Hand

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

When this card in your possession is destroyed by your opponent's card (either by battle, or by card effect) and sent to your Graveyard: You can target 1 Spell/Trap Card they control; destroy that target, then you can Special Summon 1 "Fire Hand" from your Deck.

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Bujintei Susanowo

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

2 Level 4 "Bujin" monsters
This card can attack all monsters your opponent controls once each. Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; take 1 "Bujin" monster from your Deck, and either add it to your hand or send it to the Graveyard. You can only control 1 "Bujintei Susanowo".

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Bujingi Hare

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

During either player's turn: You can banish this card from your Graveyard, then target 1 Beast-Warrior-Type "Bujin" monster you control; once during this turn, that monster cannot be destroyed by battle or card effects. You can only use the effect of "Bujingi Hare" once per turn.

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Bujingi Quilin

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

If you control a Beast-Warrior-Type "Bujin" monster: You can banish this card from your Graveyard, then target 1 face-up card your opponent controls; destroy that target. You can only use the effect of "Bujingi Quilin" once per turn.

From: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Upon destruction #1

This occurs when the Hand monster(s) is/are destroyed by a card effect and an example will be given below.

Example: This situation happens during Main Phase 1. Player A controls Fire Hand and player B controls Bujin Susanowo with a material (Bujingi Hare) attached.

Player B detached the material from Bujintei Susanowo and sent Bujingi Quilin to the grave. Now that player B has fully prepared his grave and field, he decided to use Bujingi Quilin in order to destroy player A's face-up Fire Hand. Fire Hand's effect is then activated by player A in order to destroy the face-up Susanowo.

Question: Can Bujingi Hare be used to counter the effect? In a sense that it prevents Bujintei Susanowo's destruction.

Answer: Yes, because Bujingi Hare by context is chain-able to the effect of Fire Hand. Apart from that, Bujingi Hare would not be able to miss its timing since it is still Main Phase 1.

Upon destruction #2

This situation happens during Battle Phase. Player A controls Fire Hand and player B controls Bujintei Susanowo with a Bujin Hare in the grave.

Bujintei Susanowo attacked player A's Fire Hand and then on destruction, player A decided to activate Fire Hand's effect. Player B then wanted to chain Bujingi Hare but player A said that that is not allowed.

Question: Do you know why Bujingi Hare will not have the opportunity to activate its counteractive effect?

Answer: Because as discussed in this [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] and as stated in this portion:

Substep 7 "Monsters are sent to the Graveyard"

At this point, you physically move monsters to the Graveyard. Effects that activate when that happens (Crimson Blader) will activate at this time. Do note that if monsters can't be sent to the Graveyard, such as tokens or when Macro Cosmos is face-up, then these effects do not activate. As another note, if a monster that was itself destroyed by battle has one of these effects, it will not be on the field to activate.

Sounds complicated, right? Well, it can be. But I have given you the tools you need to understand this complex topic. While it looks very daunting at first, some hard work and patience will see you master this topic. Good luck!

Fire Hand's effect is then considered to be a part of this phase. Now, how is it you do not think it is logical, correct? Well then, the answer to that is the available or viable cards which CAN be activated during this period and as stated in this lesson and in here, are the following:


  • Counter Trap Cards (these are Spell Speed 3, and can be activated at any time. Ex:[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.])
  • Spell Speed 2 effects that respond to the activation of a card, and negate it (The phrase respond to the activation is important. A card must specifically say something like "When a card/effect is activated:" to fall in this category. Cards like [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], which do not have this text, cannot be used in the Damage Step. Ex: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.])
  • Spell Speed 2 effects that alter the ATK or DEF of a monster (2 notes for this one. Firstly, the effect must directly alter the ATK or DEF of a card. [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] works because it states on the card that the ATK will change, but [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] won't work even if you control a card like [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]. Secondly, unless cards or rulings specify otherwise, these effects can only be activated up to Substep 3, which will be covered later. Ex: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.])
  • Cards that specifically state "During the Damage Step" (The text of a card always overrides the rules of the game. If a card states it can be used during the Damage Step, follow the card's text. Ex: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.])
  • Cards that have been ruled that they can be used during the Damage Step. (The rarest category. For some reason, Konami has decided these cards can be used during the Damage Step. It is a very small list though. Ex: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.], [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.])


Conclusion

By this alone, you would already know that Bujingi Hare is not considered as a card that will alter the attack and defense of a monster or any of the following in the above list, which is why it CANNOT be activated in order to protect Susano, due to hare not being able to trigger in the damage step (This is different) or missed its opportunity to protect Bujintei Susanowo.

On account of the #1 destruction, Bujingi Hare can be used during this period because it would be considered as a normal chain-able card or a 'Grave Trap' (Sort of like Hand Trap) so that its effect will be able to go through.

Note #1: No matter what you do, Bujingi Hare will never be able to chain itself to a Counter trap card.

Note #2: Remember that Bujingi Hare is considered as a Quick Effect monster and that it can be activated during any phases so as long as it is not the damage step since its effect is not applicable during that step or any of its sub-steps.

Copyright @ [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] YGODA Lesson 2014

Credits to Sjir-sama for proof reading and correcting mistakes in this lesson.



[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Heaven Lea Grace: You better hope your burn comes with a spare matchbox

SomaQuadriga: why u do this?!
Me: I'm the only one who can pull this **** off.
View user profile http://ygoda.forumtl.com

View previous topic View next topic Back to top Message [Page 1 of 1]


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum

Forum Skin Copyright @ Pizza Boi 2014